Features


Clear filters

  • Book Review: Bloodlines - Touch Not the Cat and Traces, by Thomas McKerley and Ingrid Schippers

    8 Dec 2016 | Tracey Taylor

    Reviews

    Death and discovery.  Lineage and lies. You will find a little of everything in the Bloodlines series by first-time mystery novelists Thomas McKerley (Scotland) and Ingrid Schippers (the Netherlands). Plus an exclusive offer for ACCESS readers!

     
  • Book Review: Parental Guidance. Long Distance Care for Aging Parents

    10 May 2016 | Ute Limacher-Riebold

    Reviews

    When we live far away from our aging parents and we need to rely on others to take care of them, one of our biggest challenges is our passive role. In this very valuable guide to long distance care for aging parents, Ana McGinley gives very sensible advice about this difficult topic by balancing humour, personal anecdotes and very technical information.

     
  • The Real Shoot Experience with Megan Alter

    4 Mar 2015 | Megan Alter

    Reviews

    Megan Alter Photography's production "The Real Shoot Experience" is becoming quite a success in the world of photography workshops. They are not only attracting more and more photographers but it's becoming bigger and more exquisite every time. This last edition was inspired by "The Great Gatsby"...

     
  • App Talk Spring 2015

    11 Feb 2015 | The App Talk

    Reviews

    What is one of the best things about living in Holland? The ability to leave the country quickly and easily with Europe at your feet! Here is an App Talk edition for the grown-ups.

     
  • App Talk Autumn 2014

    18 Sep 2014 | The App Train

    Reviews

    Time to recover from our summer holidays and get back to school, back to work and reenter the gravitational pull of our daily lives. During the holidays, the App Train and its two willing, unpaid user testers took a few storybooks for a spin. And here the best storybook apps for kids in the 4+ category.

     
  • App Talk Summer 2014

    4 Jun 2014 | The App Train

    Reviews

    Summer is the time to get creative and get our hands dirty. But as we travel on long airplane rides, stay with Grandma and Grandpa or a beachside hotel, getting creative means keeping purple finger marks off the sofa. Creative tablet apps are great for long train or plane trips and are much kinder to the AirBNB host’s walls. Here are a few we like for kids in the 4+ category.

     
  • App Talk Spring 2014

    19 Mar 2014 | The App Train

    Reviews

    Spring is the time to examine bugs under a microscope, follow the flight paths of butterflies, dig for dinosaur bones and learn about the stars. This spring we take a look at science learning apps for tablet and phone.

     
  • Salvi & Maya discover the Netherlands - Book review

    5 Feb 2014 | Laila Borrie

    Reviews

    Perfect for introducing international children to all things Dutch. As its name suggests, this is a story about two children, who discover different places in the Netherlands and learn interesting facts about Dutch culture.

     
  • App Talk Winter

    20 Nov 2013 | The App Train

    Reviews

    Amazingly, the holidays are upon us. And while our kids are in a state of sugar-anticipation-frenzy starting with the bag of candy from Halloween, through the Sint and straight to Christmas, we can at least calm them down a bit with a few cute apps to get us all through. It is, a lovely time of year and we should be stopping to smell (and drink!) the glühwein.

     
  • App Talk Autumn

    10 Sep 2013 | The App Train

    Reviews

    This edition focuses on our visual learners and children with special needs. As a parent of an autistic child, this is a particularly personal issue to me, and these little folks need more support in their daily lives than others.

     

Share with